New Laws For Teen

As of Sept.1, 2010, Driver's Training Enrollment Certificate is no longer required to obtain Learner's Permit.

Cell Phones:

1. Prohibits a person under the age of 18 from driving a motor vehicle while using a wireless telephone, even if equipped with a hands-free device, or while using a mobile service device, as defined. Operative July, 1 2008.

2. Drivers 18 years of age and older MUST use a hands-free device while using a wireless telephone or mobile service device while driving a motor vehicle.

Smoking in a Vehicle :

It is illegal to smoke in a vehicle with minor passengers (pipe, cigar or cigarette).

Requirements for Permit - Under 18:

  • Be at least 15 1/2 years old
  • Complete Driver's Education

Requirements for License - Under 18:

  • Be at least 16 years old
  • Must have your permit for a minimum of 6 months
  • Complete 6-hour Driver's Training course
  • Complete 50 hours of supervised driving (10 hours at night)

Teen Laws - Under 18:

After receiving your license, for the first YEAR:

  1. No passengers under age 20 unless someone in the car is age 25 or older with a valid California driver license.
  2. No driving between 11pm and 5am, unless there is someone in the car age 25 or older with a valid California driver license. *For other exceptions, refer to CA DMV handbook
Read 2845 times
You are here: Home Teen Driving Programs New Laws For Teen